Trinidad Head is a rocky promontory comprising over 60 acres of land surrounded by sea stacks in Trinidad Harbor. 14 acres, including the Trinidad Light Station, are managed by the federal government (BLM), with the remaining 46 acres managed by the City of Trinidad and almost 5 acres managed by Trinidad Rancheria at the entryway to the peninsula. The area offers breathtaking ocean views of the offshore rocks and islands of the California Coastal National Monument.
The Head and the surrounding landscape is of significant spiritual, historic, biologic, and geologic importance to the community and visitors.
Trinidad Head has long held unique prominence to the local Native American communities, with the Head serving as a major part of their culture and religion by being part of their origin story. Native Americans inhabited the area long before Spanish explorers arrived in 1775, claiming the area for Spain. In the late 1800s, the United States Coast Guard established the Trinidad Head Light Station. The station became automated in 1974, and is still in operation. In 1983, the federal government transferred 46 acres to the City of Trinidad. The remaining federal lands were transferred from the Coast Guard to BLM in 2014. The BLM and community partners are currently developing a land management plan to address public access, recreation, conservation, and preservation.